Memory Channels remain after programming

Modified on Thu, 29 Sep 2022 at 01:34 PM

It's in the design of the radio.  Verified by Kenwood's programmer for that radio.... yes, those have good information in them at times.  If a channel is not replaced during programming, the information that is in the channel will remain. 


This became very evident when a user wanted to send 3 programmed channels to a radio that currently contained 20 programmed channels.  The details of the 3 channels were replaced with that shown in the programmer, however, the others were not removed.  


The only solution is to manually reset the radio before programming. This is easy to do and can be done with the programming cable attached.  Press and hold the [MR] key while powering on the radio.  You have held the [MR] key long enough when the display of the radio turns white then displays All reset / Press [MR] (the display will appear when you release the [MR] button. )


Once the radio is reset, the file with 3 memory channels can be sent and only those 3 will appear in the memory of the radio. 


This is not an issue if you are programming more channels that those contained in the radio.  



Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article